St John's (Newfoundland), Canada Photo Gallery
Margaret and I joined with some other photographers from the ship to do a tour with a local photographer. Cape Spear was the first site that we visited.
Constructed in 1836, Cape Spear Lighthouse is a striking example of the unique lighthouse architecture of the period. Rising up from the center of the square lightkeeper’s residence, the all-important light was a beacon of safe passage until 1955, when a new lighthouse tower was built nearby, using the original light.
The original light used seven Argand burners and curved reflectors. This was later replaced by a dioptric lens system; the light was first lit by oil, then acetylene, and finally electricity in 1930.
A new concrete lighthouse was built in 1955, and the original light was moved to the new building.
Looking over East Coast Trail and the natural beauty of this place.
On the edge of Cape Spear, the most easterly point in North America (excluding Greenland), where it's very rocky and the lighthouse is very needed.
The remnants of the World War II coastal defense battery – Fort Cape Spear, where Canadian and American soldiers guarded St. John's from lurking German U-boats.
The skies have become so dramatic here and are so pretty!
Our next stop is Petty Harbour–Maddox Cove, a picturesque town of approximately 950 people.
Some lobster traps and other fishermen's tools.
More lobster traps stacked up with colorful rope.
A painting on the town office showing the history of this fishing town.
I liked this nice shed with the painting on the side.
The Harbor Authority Office also has a nice painting on the wall.
The town is approximately 200 years old although it has been used as a fishing harbor since the 1500s.
Our guide told us that this fishing town has been the site for filming several movies and tv shows, one of which is Aquaman.
The harbor here is so picturesque you can see why filming crews would like it.
The name Petty Harbour is the anglicized form of the French name Petit Havre, which means 'small harbour'. It was first settled by French colonists.
Some colorful fishing huts with nice lighting this time of day.
A wide variety of seafood is caught here including caplin, cod, crab, herring, lump fish, lobster, mackerel, mussels, squid and whelk.
A nice looking dog here at one of the fishing huts.
Just a few seagulls.
The breakwater was built in 1967 after damage from a big sea storm that destroyed 90% of the landing facilities.
Now back at a port in St. John's where I found all this rope and crab pot interesting.
The Battery sits on the entrance to the harbor of St John's, on the slopes of Signal Hill.
It is noted for its steep slopes, and colorful houses.
The view from Signal Hill where we saw the weather change to very windy and a little rainy.
Fort Amherst National Historic Site of Canada, of which there are no visible remains, sits at South Head, the entrance to the Narrows of St. John’s Harbor.
As we looked at this sign on Signal Hill we realized that we had been to many of the different places on this trip.
Cabot Tower on Signal Hill, the site of military battles and technological triumphs. On December 12, 1901, Guglielmo Marconi received the first trans-Atlantic, wireless signal.
They fire this gun, a quick-firing 3-pound Hotchkiss Gun, everyday at noon, which we were there for. You can pay for the experience of firing the gun if that is something you'd like to do.
In the signal hill area stands the fascinating, yet peculiar shaped building, with the blue roof, which is known as the Johnson Geo center. The red building is the Ross Family Medicine Clinic.The big building on the left back is the Confederation Building.
Looking a our ship docked in St John's from Signal Hill.
Known as “Newfoundland‘s prettiest village,” Quidi Vidi is a small fishing village filled to the brim with history and charm.
In a huge green building dominating the harbor is the Quidi Vidi Brewery. This old fish plant was transformed into a local brewery in 1996 by David Fong.
The history of Quidi Vidi revolves around fishing. In the 1600s, fishermen arrived every spring to fish the rich sources of cod they found in the area. The fishermen liked to set up small fishing huts on the harbor until the cold weather arrived. Eventually they settled permanently.
Cod sculpture in Quidi Vidi.
A puffin painted wall-There are puffins in the area, but it's a boat ride away.
A stream that flows from Quidi Vidi Lake to Quidi Vidi Harbor.
St. John’s ranks as the most colourful city in Canada, thanks in large part to the brilliant Jellybean Houses of downtown. Strolling along the streets is like being whisked away into a fairytale world of whimsy.
Just look at what was painted on the foundation of one of the jellybean houses. So cute!
This was painted on a fence in the area.
It seemed that everything was painted, even telephone poles.
These houses are one of the best attractions in town. You will find many streets that are lined with wooden row houses that are painted in different bright colors.
They are certainly unique and colourful.
Notice here the mailbox painted like the houses. We saw several of these.
Houses where the mailbox was.
It's nice to be welcomed into the town. These were posted all over St John's.
Brian took this photo of this mural. Doug and he did their own little walking tour.
In 2008 Newfoundland artist Morgan MacDonald unveiled this 12-foot-high bronze sculpture on George Street, the city's entertainment center. It celebrates some of the province's best-known artists. Brian also took this photo.
We ended up having to stay overnight here, because of the windy, stormy weather. But this is what welcomed us the next morning, beautiful blue skies. Too bad we had to leave.
Downtown of St John's-The Courthouse is on the left. A little above it is St Andrew's Church. Top center is The Rooms, a cultural facility. Top right is the Basilica of St John the Baptist. The red building below it is Newfoundland Museum.
A look at the Narrows that we will sail through to leave.
A look at the Battery area as we leave.
On Signal Hill we can see the canons near the visitors center and people who came to look at us leave through the Narrows.
Here's another photo of Signal Hill near Cabot House and people watching us leave.
Cabot House looks very small on this huge hill. Notice the hiking trail around the hill. There were many hiking trails here.
The view as we leave the narrows.
As we leave we have a view of Cape Spear and the lighthouses.